Events

  • Fri
    19
    Feb
    2021
    11:00 am

    New critical mineral deposits are required to secure the supply of natural resources that are used in today’s advanced technologies. The discovery and sustainable development of these new deposits represents a global chal­lenge. Governments and international geological survey organizations are responding by improved multinational cooperation, data sharing, and through investments in geoscientific research. This Critical Minerals Forum brings together representatives from multiple geological surveys organizations to provide an update on the latest geoscience results and to discuss future critical mineral research.

    Presentations will focus on advanced mineral system models that are appli­cable to critical minerals and new methods for modelling mineral potential in buried, remote, and/or other challenging mineral exploration settings. Both of these research themes are included within the new Critical Mineral Mapping Initiative that is being conducted between the Geological Survey of Canada, Geoscience Australia, and the United States Geological Survey. Global efforts to expand this collaboration, including the development of an online geo­chemical portal for critical mineral deposits, will be discussed as part of this special session and is open to further contributions, research, and analysis.

    Format

    The Critical Minerals Forum will be hosted as a set of three regional sessions (Americas, Europe and Africa, and Asia and Oceania). Each regional forum will feature lectures from science policy experts and geoscientists during a live plenary and moderated discussion session with attendees. All pre-recorded science and policy presentations will be made available on­line the Monday prior to the corresponding live plenary and discussion sessions. The pre-recorded science and policy presentations will also be aired live prior to the corresponding plenary and discussion session.

    All plenary and discussion sessions will be conducted in English with live captioning in French, Spanish, Portuguese, Russian, Modern Chinese, and Hindi.

    Please contact Christopher Lawley at [email protected] with any questions about this webinar series.

    For more information on the event, please view and download the event's flyer.

    Sessions

    Americas - 12 February 2021
    The role of geological survey organizations to advance critical mineral research: Register

    Pre-recorded presentations live stream: 11.00 - 13.00 EST
    (Presentations will be available online on 08 February)

    Live plenary and discussion: 13.00 - 14.30 EST
    10.00 (Vancouver) * 13.00 (Toronto, Lima, New York) * 18.00 (London) * 19.00 (Paris, Lagos) * 20.00 (Johannesburg) * 21.00 (Nairobi) * 23.30 (Mumbai)
    13 February 2021: 00.00 (Dhaka) * 02.00 (Beijing) * 03.00 (Tokyo) * 05.00 (Sydney)

    Moderated by Geoff Plumlee, United States Geological Survey, USA

    Presenters

    • Warren Day and Anne McCafferty (plenary speakers), United States Geological Survey, USA
    • Geneviève Marquis, Geological Survey of Canada, Canada
    • Jean-Yves Labbé, Québec Ministère de l’Énergie et des Ressources Naturelles, Canada
    • Natalia Amezcua, Servicio Geológico Mexicano, Mexico
    • Felipe Espinoza, Servicio Nacional de Geología y Minería, Chile
    • Felipe Mattos Tavares, Serviço Geológico do Brasil, Brazil

    Europe and Africa - 19 February 2021
    The past, present, and future directions of critical mineral research: Register

    Live plenary and discussion: 13.00 - 14.30 CET
    04.00 (Vancouver) * 07.00 (Toronto, Lima, New York) * 12.00 (London) * 13.00 (Paris, Lagos) * 14.00 (Johannesburg) * 15.00 (Nairobi) * 17.30 (Mumbai) * 18.00 (Dhaka) * 20.00 (Beijing) * 21.00 (Tokyo) * 23.00 (Sydney)

    Moderated by Geneviève Marquis, Geological Survey of Canada, Canada

    Presenters

    • Daniel de Oliveira and Javier González Sanz (plenary speakers), Laboratório Nacional de Energia e Geologia and Instituto Geológico y Minero de España, Portugal and Spain
    • Saku Vuori, Geologian Tutkimuskeskus, Finland
    • Kathryn Goodenough, British Geological Survey, United Kingdom
    • Blandine Gourcerol, Bureau de Recherches Géologiques et Minières, France
    • Håvard Gautneb & Janja Knežević Solberg, Norges Geologiske Undersøkelse, Norway
    • Lesego Peter, Botswana Geoscience Institute, Botswana
    • Taufeeq Dhansay, Council for Geoscience, South Africa

    Asia and Oceania - 26 February 2021
    Geoscience to support critical mineral discovery: Register

    Pre-recorded presentations live stream: 11.00 - 13.00 AWST
    (Presentations will be available online on 22 February)

    Live plenary and discussion: 13.00 - 14.30 AWST
    00.00 (Toronto, Lima, New York) * 05.00 (London) * 06.00 (Paris, Lagos) * 07.00 (Johannesburg) * 08.00 (Nairobi) * 10.30 (Mumbai) * 11.00 (Dhaka) * 13.00 (Beijing) * 14.00 (Tokyo) * 16.00 (Sydney)
    25 February 2021: 21.00 (Vancouver)

    Moderated by Marina Costelloe, Geoscience Australia, Australia

    Presenters

    • Karol Czarnota (plenary speaker), Geoscience Australia, Australia
    • Young Joo, Coordinating Committee for Geoscience Programmes in East and Southeast Asia, Thailand
    • Seong-Jun Cho, Korea Institute of Geoscience and Mineral Resources, South Korea
    • Regine Morgenstern and Rose Turnbull, GNS, New Zealand
    • Helen Degeling, Geological Survey of Queensland, Australia

    For more information about the event, please visit the website.

  • Mon
    07
    Jun
    2021
    Thu
    10
    Jun
    2021
    Segovia, Spain

    The Organising Committee and the European Association for the Conservation of the Geological Heritage (ProGEO) is pleased to invite you to take part in the Xth International ProGEO Symposium. The meeting is organised by the Instituto Geológico y Minero de España (IGME, the Geological Survey of Spain) and will take place in Segovia (Spain) from 8th to 11th of June 2020. This symposium is an international event open to scientists, students, educators, professionals, decision-makers and anyone involved in geoconservation. The symposium is organized in conjunction with several geoconservation organizations also hosting their meetings in Segovia during the same dates.

    The Symposium will provide the opportunity to discuss the new challenges and threats in global geoconservation. The knowledge and experience acquired within ProGEO during the last decades at national, European and global levels projects this scientific organization as the international leader in geoconservation.

    Recent developments include issues such as methodologies for the inventory of Geological Sites of Interest, geoconservation in natural protected areas, benefits and impact of rural development and geotourism in geoparks, legislation and management in a global conservation framework. The Symposium will promote communication and collaboration amongst the different stakeholders and actors in modern geoheritage conservation from all over the world present at the various joint meetings taking place at Segovia. Download the brochure of the congress for visualizing the important dates, the scientific programme and the necessary information about travel and accommodation in Segovia. For further information about the congress, please consult the dedicated website.

  • Sun
    18
    Jul
    2021
    Sat
    24
    Jul
    2021
    Cracow, Poland

    The INHIGEO 2021 conference will be held at the Headquarters of the Polish Academy of Arts and Sciences in Cracow at 17 Sławkowska Street.

    CONFERENCE THEMES
    1. History of geological surveys and biographies of their creators
    2. History of geological societies
    3. History and development of geological cartography
    4. History of mineral extraction / Mining history
    5. General contributions and biographies of famous geologists

    IMPORTANT DATES

    30 November 2020, deadline for Expression of Interest for symposium and pre-conference trips
    01 March 2021, deadline for abstract and full articles submission
    31 March 2021, notification of acceptance and 2nd Circular
    15 June 2021, closure of early bird registration for symposium, pre-conference trip, accompanying participant’s early bird on-line registration fee payment.

    For more information about conference themes and associated excursions, please view the first circular.

    Further, we ask you to complete the “Expression of Interest” and "Abstract Template" form in the specific INHIGEO 2021 template. Please return these forms at your earliest convenience, but preferably by November 30, 2020, to [email protected]

  • Mon
    02
    Aug
    2021
    Mon
    09
    Aug
    2021
    Galway, Ireland

    The Joint Conference of ISEH 2020 (The 5th International Symposium on Environment and Health), ICEPH 2020 (The 6th International Conference on Environmental Pollution and Health) & G16 2020 (The 7th International Conference on Research Frontiers on Chalcogen Cycle Science and Technology) will be held in Galway, Ireland during August 2–9, 2020.

    The main themes of the conference will concern health, environment and GIS and Agriculture in the Big Data Era.

    Potential attendees of the conference are expected to submit an abstract using the Abstract Template from the conference website and submit it via the following online system: (www.nuigalway.ie/iseh2020/abstractsubmission).

    A copy of the abstract template is also available in the information package you can download below. The information package includes a list of the conference committees, guidelines on themes and topics, an overview of the registration fees, a list of the approved sessions and guidelines for session conveners. Moreover, the package provides a detailed description and a few pictures of the 2020 Capital of the Culture, Galway.

    The submission deadline for abstracts is: March,1 2020.

    For more information, please visit the conference website: http://www.nuigalway.ie/iseh2020/.

    View or download the information package here.

  • Mon
    16
    Aug
    2021
    Sat
    21
    Aug
    2021
    New Delhi, India

    The International Geological Congress (IGC) is delighted to announce the 36th International Geological Congress, which will be hosted in the exotic New Delhi, from 2-8 March 2020. The main aim of the event is to create a thoughtful environment for sharing geological knowledge with the main academics, organisations, partners and researchers coming from all over the world as well as those stakeholders who eager to learn more or possessing an expertise or deep interest for earth sciences, geology and the mineral sector.

    The vast Indian-subcontinent is a land rich of natural resources and can provide a full range of geological episodes, from precious and rare minerals to extensive rivers and active volcanoes, offering its visitors a deep and varied historical and cultural heritage. As such, India has actively contributed in several areas of the scientific sector and in research over the years.

    Each of these aspects make the upcoming IGC Congress a not-to-be-missed opportunity for those who want to enhance their geoscientific knowledge.

    For more information about the congress, the registration process and the details about the venue, please check the dedicated website of the event.