Events

Event Information:

  • Fri
    19
    Feb
    2021

    Advances in critical mineral research: A forum in memory of Victor Labson

    11:00 am

    New critical mineral deposits are required to secure the supply of natural resources that are used in today’s advanced technologies. The discovery and sustainable development of these new deposits represents a global chal­lenge. Governments and international geological survey organizations are responding by improved multinational cooperation, data sharing, and through investments in geoscientific research. This Critical Minerals Forum brings together representatives from multiple geological surveys organizations to provide an update on the latest geoscience results and to discuss future critical mineral research.

    Presentations will focus on advanced mineral system models that are appli­cable to critical minerals and new methods for modelling mineral potential in buried, remote, and/or other challenging mineral exploration settings. Both of these research themes are included within the new Critical Mineral Mapping Initiative that is being conducted between the Geological Survey of Canada, Geoscience Australia, and the United States Geological Survey. Global efforts to expand this collaboration, including the development of an online geo­chemical portal for critical mineral deposits, will be discussed as part of this special session and is open to further contributions, research, and analysis.

    Format

    The Critical Minerals Forum will be hosted as a set of three regional sessions (Americas, Europe and Africa, and Asia and Oceania). Each regional forum will feature lectures from science policy experts and geoscientists during a live plenary and moderated discussion session with attendees. All pre-recorded science and policy presentations will be made available on­line the Monday prior to the corresponding live plenary and discussion sessions. The pre-recorded science and policy presentations will also be aired live prior to the corresponding plenary and discussion session.

    All plenary and discussion sessions will be conducted in English with live captioning in French, Spanish, Portuguese, Russian, Modern Chinese, and Hindi.

    Please contact Christopher Lawley at [email protected] with any questions about this webinar series.

    For more information on the event, please view and download the event's flyer.

    Sessions

    Americas - 12 February 2021
    The role of geological survey organizations to advance critical mineral research: Register

    Pre-recorded presentations live stream: 11.00 - 13.00 EST
    (Presentations will be available online on 08 February)

    Live plenary and discussion: 13.00 - 14.30 EST
    10.00 (Vancouver) * 13.00 (Toronto, Lima, New York) * 18.00 (London) * 19.00 (Paris, Lagos) * 20.00 (Johannesburg) * 21.00 (Nairobi) * 23.30 (Mumbai)
    13 February 2021: 00.00 (Dhaka) * 02.00 (Beijing) * 03.00 (Tokyo) * 05.00 (Sydney)

    Moderated by Geoff Plumlee, United States Geological Survey, USA

    Presenters

    • Warren Day and Anne McCafferty (plenary speakers), United States Geological Survey, USA
    • Geneviève Marquis, Geological Survey of Canada, Canada
    • Jean-Yves Labbé, Québec Ministère de l’Énergie et des Ressources Naturelles, Canada
    • Natalia Amezcua, Servicio Geológico Mexicano, Mexico
    • Felipe Espinoza, Servicio Nacional de Geología y Minería, Chile
    • Felipe Mattos Tavares, Serviço Geológico do Brasil, Brazil

    Europe and Africa - 19 February 2021
    The past, present, and future directions of critical mineral research: Register

    Live plenary and discussion: 13.00 - 14.30 CET
    04.00 (Vancouver) * 07.00 (Toronto, Lima, New York) * 12.00 (London) * 13.00 (Paris, Lagos) * 14.00 (Johannesburg) * 15.00 (Nairobi) * 17.30 (Mumbai) * 18.00 (Dhaka) * 20.00 (Beijing) * 21.00 (Tokyo) * 23.00 (Sydney)

    Moderated by Geneviève Marquis, Geological Survey of Canada, Canada

    Presenters

    • Daniel de Oliveira and Javier González Sanz (plenary speakers), Laboratório Nacional de Energia e Geologia and Instituto Geológico y Minero de España, Portugal and Spain
    • Saku Vuori, Geologian Tutkimuskeskus, Finland
    • Kathryn Goodenough, British Geological Survey, United Kingdom
    • Blandine Gourcerol, Bureau de Recherches Géologiques et Minières, France
    • Håvard Gautneb & Janja Knežević Solberg, Norges Geologiske Undersøkelse, Norway
    • Lesego Peter, Botswana Geoscience Institute, Botswana
    • Taufeeq Dhansay, Council for Geoscience, South Africa

    Asia and Oceania - 26 February 2021
    Geoscience to support critical mineral discovery: Register

    Pre-recorded presentations live stream: 11.00 - 13.00 AWST
    (Presentations will be available online on 22 February)

    Live plenary and discussion: 13.00 - 14.30 AWST
    00.00 (Toronto, Lima, New York) * 05.00 (London) * 06.00 (Paris, Lagos) * 07.00 (Johannesburg) * 08.00 (Nairobi) * 10.30 (Mumbai) * 11.00 (Dhaka) * 13.00 (Beijing) * 14.00 (Tokyo) * 16.00 (Sydney)
    25 February 2021: 21.00 (Vancouver)

    Moderated by Marina Costelloe, Geoscience Australia, Australia

    Presenters

    • Karol Czarnota (plenary speaker), Geoscience Australia, Australia
    • Young Joo, Coordinating Committee for Geoscience Programmes in East and Southeast Asia, Thailand
    • Seong-Jun Cho, Korea Institute of Geoscience and Mineral Resources, South Korea
    • Regine Morgenstern and Rose Turnbull, GNS, New Zealand
    • Helen Degeling, Geological Survey of Queensland, Australia

    For more information about the event, please visit the website.